Excellence in Education Awards Finalists


Eight exceptionally devoted and talented employees of the Manatee County School District were recently surprised by a visit from Superintendent Dr. Diana Greene, Board Chair Dr. Scott Hopes, representatives of the Manatee Education Foundation, members of the District Leadership Team, Marty the Marauder and a TV Production crew from Manatee Technical College; as they learned they have been named finalists for this year’s Excellence In Education Awards.

The Excellence In Education Awards celebrate excellence in education in Manatee County by selecting an “Educator of the Year” and a “Support Employee of the Year.”

The four finalists in each category are:




Heather Anderson, Language Arts Teacher, King Middle



Richard Daenell, Business Education Teacher, Lee Middle



Carrie Ling, 4th Grade Teacher, Braden River Elementary



Mallorie Ray, 5th Grade Teacher, Mills Elementary





Colette Matthews, Junior Accountant, Matzke Complex



Pam Miller, Office Manager, Matzke Complex



Marie Mueller, Computer Manager, Oneco Elementary



Aaron Weicht, Student Support Specialist, Palmetto Elementary


The finalists will be honored, and the “Educator of the Year” and “Support Employee of the Year” will be announced at the Excellence In Education Awards ceremony to be held on Wednesday, March 7, 2018, beginning at 7 p.m. at Manatee Technical College’s main campus.

The Educator representative will advance to the Florida Department of Education Macy’s Teacher of the Year competition, while the Support representative will advance to the Florida School Related Employee of the Year competition.

“The finalists that are being announced today are great examples of the kind of caring and committed employees we have in this school district,” said Superintendent Greene. “I look forward to celebrating the work these employees have done for our students and schools at the Excellence in Education Awards on March 7th.”

District employees, parents and students were given the opportunity to nominate employees for the award categories. A total of 242 work site representatives were initially nominated with 65 representatives qualifying for review by a panel of judges. Two committees comprised of the following individuals selected the eight finalists announced today.

Congratulations to all of the well-deserving finalists — and good luck to them moving forward!

#WeManatee stands for We are the School District of Manatee County. No matter what challenges we face, we strengthen each other when we stand together.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *