Seven National Blue Ribbon Schools Named in Manatee County


Every year the U. S. Department of Education seeks out and celebrates great American schools, schools demonstrating that all students can achieve to high levels. The National Blue Ribbon School award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.

Photo: Williams Elementary School


The School District of Manatee County is proud to announce the following Blue Ribbon Schools: Points of Light schools – Bashaw Elementary School, Braden River Middle School, Lee Middle School and Palmetto Elementary School; Beacon schools – Haile Middle School and Tara Elementary School; Lighthouse school – Williams Elementary School. Only 31 schools in the United States were awarded the highest honor, Lighthouse status.


Administrators from Manatee County’s Blue Ribbon Schools receive recognition during a School Board Meeting


To achieve Blue Ribbon status, schools are evaluated in the following areas of school performance:

  • Student Focus and Support
  • School Organization and Culture
  • Challenging Standards and Curriculum
  • Active Teaching and Learning
  • Technology Integration
  • Professional Community
  • Leadership and Educational Vitality
  • School, Family, and Community Partnerships
  • Indicators of Success


Administrators and staff from Bashaw Elementary School


According to the U.S. Department of Education, National Blue Ribbon Schools are an inspiration and a model for schools still striving for excellence. This is the 37th year for the program and the coveted award has been bestowed to 9,000 schools nationwide.


Haile Middle School administrators


WeManatee celebrates the people in Manatee County who make a difference in public education – and those who benefit from it. Search #WeManatee on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to see the great things happening in our public schools.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *